On the 19th October 1824, Hamilton Hume and William Hovell passed through the Yass Plains on their expedition to Victoria. The road between Yass and Wee Jasper was declared the shortest way to travel from Sydney to the Kiandra goldfields in the 1850's, when thousands of fortune seeking Europeans and ﾓCelestialsﾔ (Chinese) used what must have been a bush track, prior to the development of the current surveyed road. As the Wee Jasper Road descends towards the Murrumbidgee River, panoramic views of the valley and the stored waters of Burrinjuck Dam unfold. Clear views of limestone rock formations and extensive folding; millions of years old can be seen in the cliffs arising from the river. The most romantic origin of the name Wee Jasper comes from folklore and is attributed to an early resident, McBean, an old Scot, one of the early settlers. McBean, so the story goes, arrived home one day with ﾓWeeﾔ (Scottish for small), ﾓJasperﾔ (Gems) in his pocket. The Goodradgbee River, formerly called the ﾓLittle Riverﾔ is an outstanding trout stream that meanders through the ranges from its source high in the Snowy Mountains. Australia's best known poet, Andrew Barton Paterson better know as ﾓBanjoﾔ called Wee Jasper his home during the early 1900's. His property was ﾓCoodravale Stationﾔ located on the Yass side of the Goodradigbee River. Some of the charm of early Wee Jasper including limestone buildings survive. On the right as you cross the bridge is the former Police Barracks, c1880 now the Stables Tavern and Restaurant. Further on the right is the school residence, formerly the Police Station and then at the intersection is the local school opened in 1899. There are numerous limestone caves in the Wee Jasper Valley, the best known being Carey's Cave, which is open to the public for inspection. Visitors can also enjoy luxury accommodation, cabin accommodation, camping reserves, the Hume and Hovell Walking Track, fishing, fossicking and caving.